Photo by Teresa Q.

João Lencastre is a drummer/composer native from Lisbon, Portugal. He started playing the drums at the age of 13, and over the years have been involved in innumerous projects, having the chance to play all kinds of music, from  mainstream to avant-garde Jazz, Rock, Free Improvisation, Alternative Rock, Afro Beat, Reggae, Metal, World Music, Punk, Electronic/Dance, and some unclassified genres.



Over more than 20 years playing professionally , Lencastre has played in all major festivals and venues in Portugal  and has toured in different places around the world including New York, Czech Republic, England, Brazil, Germany, Poland, Spain, Macau, Russia, Amsterdam and Panama, giving him te opportunity to play and/or record with top musician such as David Binney, Bill Carrothers, André Fernandes, Mário Franco, Thomas Morgan, Jacob Sacks, Phil Grenadier, André Matos, Leo Genovese, Rodrigo Amado, Hernâni Faustino, Eivind Opsvik, Masa Kamaguchi, Drew, Gress, Benny Lackner, João Paulo Esteves da Silva, Nelson Cascais, Vojtech Prochaska, David Doruzka, Noah Preminger, Rodrigo Pinheiro, Sara Serpa, Demian Cabaud, José Lencastre NAU Quartet, among many others...

Lencastre has released nine records as a leader, all well acclaimed by the public in general and the media around the world, having had great reviews on some of the most prestigious magazines, newspapers and websites including Modern Drummer, Downbeat, Jazz Times, Ipslon, Jazz.PT, Jazzwise, All About Jazz, NYC Jazz Record, Salt Peanuts,  just to name a few. 


Neighbour Lizard "Neighbour Lizard" (Robalo Music 2022)

Ernesto Rodrigues "Affinity Suite" (Creative Sources Records 2022)

João Lencastre's Communion "Unlimited Dreams" (Clean Feed 2021)

José Lencastre NAU Quartet + Pedro Carneiro "Thoughts are Things" (Phonogram Unit 2021)

Tiago Bettencourt: "2019 Rumo ao Eclipse" (Sony Music 2020)

João Lencastre: "No Gravity" (2020)

José Lencastre NAU Quartet: "Live in Russia" (Clean Feed 2019)

João Lencastre's Communion 3: "Song(s) of Hope" (Clean Feed 2019)


João Lencastre: "Parallel Realities" (FMR Records 2019)


José Lencastre Nau Quartet: "Eudamonia" (FMR Records 2018)

EEL SLAP! : Vol. II (Flea Boy Records 2018)

João Lencastre's Communion 3: "Movements in Freedom" (Clean Feed 2017)


Tiago Bettencourt "A Procura" (Sony Music 2017)


José Lencastre Nau Quartet: "Fragments of Always" (FMR Records 2017)


João Hasselberg & Pedro Branco: "From order to chaos" (Clean Feed 2017)


EEL SLAP!: Vol. I (EP) (Flea Boy Records 2017)


João Hasselberg & Pedro Branco: "Dancing our way to the death" (2016)


No Project Trio: Vol. II (FMR Records 2015)


João Lencastre's Communion "What is this all about?" (Auand records 2014)


Tiago Bettencourt "Do Princípio" (Universal 2014)


Tiago Bettencourt "Acústico" (Universal 2012)


No Project Trio "Vol. I" (JACC Records 2012)


Tiago na Toca "Poemas" (EMI/Metronomo 2011)


Joao Lencastre's Communion "Sound it Out" (TOAP 2010)


Joao Lencstre's Communion "B-Sides" (Fresh Sound 2008)


Joao Lencastre's Communion "One!" (Fresh Sound 2007)

Tiago Bettencourt & Mantha "Em Fuga" (Universal 2010)


Tiago Bettencourt & Mantha "O Jardim" (Universal 2007)

Mario Franco Group + David Binney (TOAP 2006)


Ensemble Raum "Sete Pecados Mortais" (2005)

Blasted Mechanism "Plasma" (Musica Alternativa 1999)